Owl City - Fireflies sheet music

"Fireflies" is a song by the pop group called Owl City.

It was featured as their first ever single on the album called "Ocean Eyes". Recorded during the year 2008 and released officially on the 14th of July, 2009, "Fireflies" was made available on two formats, first as a digital download, then as a CD single.

The B-side on the album for "Fireflies" was the song called "Hot Air Balloon".

This synthpop styled song was released by the label Universal Republic and has a length of 3 minutes and 48 seconds. It was written and produced by Adam Young, co-produced alongside Matthew Thiessen.

This song has a special guest providing vocals, namely Matt Thiessen from the group Relient K. The lyrics of the song express ideas such as insomnia and the summer nights when the night bugs won’t leave you alone to sleep. "Fireflies" was very successful in the United States, slowly climbing on the charts until it got at the top of the US Billboard Hot 100 charts in the month of October, year 2009.

It performed very well even internationally, managing to get on the top of the charts in territories such as Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Austria, Finland, Ireland, the Netherlands and even the United Kingdom.

"Fireflies" was featured in a promo video for a video game from Sony, titled "EyePet". Also, the Walt Disney have used it in the "Disney Sing It: Party Hits" compilation album.

It was featured on two more video games, namely "Rock Band 3" and "Guitar Hero 5". A music video for "Fireflies" was released soon, created mainly by director Steve Hoover. Adam is shown as playing a type of organ in a room filled with toys. The toys eventually come to life and it is a pretty fun to watch video, especially since the entire image of the video is a vintage one, with record players or old TV sets.

In 2015, the official video had garnered more than 150 million views.

Al Yankovic has sampled part of the song for his own song, called "Polka Face", which was ultimately included on the album "Alpocalypse".

Other covers have been one from Sam Tsui and another from Cheryl Cole, who played it on BBC Radio 1. A drum cover has been created and featured on YouTube by Cobus Potgieter.

"Fireflies" by Owl City has charted at the end of 2010 in the top 10 in Australia, Ireland, United Kingdom and also made it to top 20 in several other places.

Fireflies' free piano tutorial and sheet music are available below. Download the free PDF and expand your talent.

Piano tutorial and cover

Fireflies - Owl City piano tutorial

Free PDF download of Fireflies piano sheet music

🎹 9 versions available. 🎹
If you find a broken link → contact us

  • 1 🎹 Version 1 - View PDF
  • 2 🎹 Version 2 - View PDF
  • 3 🎹 Version 3 - View PDF
  • 4 🎹 Version 4 - View PDF
  • 5 🎹 Version 5 - View PDF
  • 6 🎹 Version 6 - View PDF
  • 7 🎹 Version 7 - View PDF
  • 8 🎹 Version 8 - View PDF
  • 9 🎹 Version 9 - View PDF