Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1 sheet music

Today we chose a very classic piece to fill out time with - Piano Concerto No.1 Solo, by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Pyotr Tchaikovsky was one of the most famous Russian composers of the Romantic period.

He was, in fact, the first Russian composer whose music made a lasting international impression.

To point out some important things about his life and career, we want to mention that he was a pioneer in many ways, not only in music, and he left behind a big legacy.

Piano Concerto No.1 was composed by Pyotr Tchaikovsky between November 1874 and February 1875.

The free Piano Concerto No.1 piano sheet music in B minor, Op. 23 was revised in 1879 and in 1888.

The first version of the concerto received severe criticism from Nikolai Rubinstein, but still became one of the most popular compositions and piano concerts.

From the composition point of view, the free Piano Concerto No.1 piano sheets include two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets in B, two bassoons, four horns in F, two trumpets in F, three trombones, timpani, solo piano, and strings.

It follows the normal form of a concert, containing three movements, with a length of 30 or 36 minutes:

  • 1 - Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso – Allegro con spirito
  • 2 - Andantino semplice – Prestissimo – Tempo I
  • 3 - Allegro con fuoco – Molto meno mosso – Allegro vivo

The version which is now played and we can hear in a concerto, is the third one that Tchaikovsky revised in 1888.

The most important difference between the original and the final version is the opening section.

In the original version of Piano Concerto No.1, the opening section was written as an arpeggio.

The Piano Concerto No.1 is a very notable piece, also used in media in different forms, for example in the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, in the 1941 movie The Great Lie, The Meaning of Life, in Season 6 of SpongeBob, and so on.

Please enjoy it at your piano whenever you feel like it, as starting from today, we made it available for you on our website.

Piano tutorial and cover

Piano Concerto No. 1 - Tchaikovsky piano tutorial

Free PDF download of Piano Concerto No. 1 piano sheet music

🎹 4 versions available. 🎹
If you find a broken link → contact us

  • 1 🎹 Version 1 (Piano Solo) - View PDF
  • 2 🎹 Version 2 - View PDF
  • 3 🎹 Version 3 - View PDF
  • 4 🎹 Version 4 - View PDF